Wolves In The Throne Room

Wolves in the Throne Room (WITTR) is an American black metal band from Olympia, Washington. It addresses abstract themes, often linked to nature and paganism. The group is currently still active. Their labels are Southern Lord Records, Vendlus Records and Artemisia Records. Their musical style is often described as “Cascadian Black Metal”, a name which characterizes their crystalline and meditative music.

The group was formed in 2002. The main members of Wolves in the Throne Room are brothers Aaron and Nathan Weaver. The band released their first demo, a black CDR. “Diadem of 12 Stars” was their first studio album, released in 2006. It was recorded by Tim Green at Louder Studios in San Francisco.

On their second album, “Two Hunters” (2007), they worked with Randall Dunn, who subsequently produced all other albums. During the recording sessions for “Two Hunters”, the band began working with analogue synthesizers, which would become crucial to their sound. Their third album, “Black Cascade”, was released in March 2009.
After publishing “Black Cascade”, the group toured the United States and Europe.

“Celestial Lineage” was released on September 13, 2011, and is the third instalment in the “Two Hunters” trilogy.
Brandon Stosuy of Pitchfork described “Celestial Lineage” as “2011’s most idiosyncratic American Black Metal album.” »

Wolves in the Throne Room are selected by Godspeed You! Black Emperor for the All Tomorrow’s Parties festival held in Minehead, United Kingdom, in 2010. In January 2014, a sequel to “Celestial Lineage “was announced for 2014, titled “Celestite. Celestite” “was released in North America on July 8, 2014, as an experimental expansion of their previous album “Celestial Lineage”.

Musical style and influences

WITTR’s musical style is undoubtedly influenced by Scandinavian Black Metal. We will also note influences of Doom Metal, Drone Metal, Dark Ambient, Crust Punk and Folk music. Members have sometimes cited bands like Neurosis as an influence. Celestite (2014) marks a turning point in the group’s career. This one abandons the scratchy vocals, the saturated electric guitars and the double bass drum to create a dark ambient album made mainly from synthesizers. However, the group is not abandoning Black Metal: “Celestite” wants to be a musical rediscovery and a culmination of their album, “Celestial Lineage”, released in 2011.


Nathan Weaver – guitar, bass, drums, synthesizer, lead vocals (since 2002)1
Aaron Weaver – drums, guitar, bass, synthesizer, vocals (since 2002)1

Session Members
Jamie Myers – vocals (on Diadem of 12 Stars, Malevolent Grain)
Jessika Kenney – vocals (on Two Hunters and Celestial Lineage)
Will Lindsay (Middian) – bass (on Live at Roadburn 2008)
Dino Sommese (Dystopia, Asunder) – guest vocals
Ross Sewage (Ludicra, Impaled) – bass (during the fall 2008 US tour and during the 2009 winter European tour)
Oscar Sparbell (Christian Mistress) – bass (during the American and European tour in 2009)

Studio Albums
2006 : Diadem of 12 Stars
2007 : Two Hunters
2009 : Black Cascade
2011 : Celestial Lineage
2014 : Celestite
2017 : Thrice Woven
2021 : Primordial Arcana