Dark Funeral

Dark Funeral is one of the world’s most overwhelming, destructive, satanic bands. The sound is highly fast, violent and disturbing. It is one of the best Black Metal bands in Sweden and the world. Its lyrics explicitly venerate the forces of evil, unlike other Black Metal bands that address themes such as Christianity, wars or cultures.

It all started in 1993 when Lord Ahriman and Blackmoon (David Parland) started playing together. Dark Funeral was the name chosen for this project. They were later joined by Draugen and Themgoroth.

In 1994, the band recorded a self-financed album for the first time at Dan Swan’s studio, Uni-Sound, in January. This EP is released on May 4th. That same day, the band would play their first show at Lottes Pub in Oslo, Norway.

After the recording sessions, Draugen left the band and was replaced by Equimanthorn. The band signs with No Fashion Records and begins preparing songs for a full album

The following year, the band recorded “The Secrets of the Black Arts” at Uni-Sounds studios, but the band decided to re-record the album at Abyss Studio. A new song (When Angels Forever Die) is added to the album during this new recording. The band films their first video for the song “The Secrets Of The Black Arts”.

Emperor Magus Caligula joins the band as vocalist, and shortly after, the band debuts playing at festivals, at “Under The Black Sun I”, in Berlin.

On January 28, 1996, “The Secrets of the Black Arts” was released and licensed to Metal Blade (North America) and Mystic Production (Poland).

Blackmoon decides to leave the band, and Alzazmon takes over on drums and Typhos on guitar. Emperor Magus Calígula, in addition to being the vocalist, becomes the bassist.

Together with the band Necromass, the band leaves for Satanic War Tour I across Europe. In 97, the band continued on tour (Satanic War Tour II), where they played for the first time in America. Bal Sagoth and Ancient also participated in this tour.
Still in 97, the band recorded the album “Vobiscum Satanas”.

1998, “The Ineffable Kings Of Darkness” tour began, including the bands “Enthroned and Liar of Golgotha”.
For this tour, bassist Dominion was hired. After the band participates in the Swedish festival “Hultsfreds Festival”, Thyphos is expelled, and Dominion becomes the band’s guitarist, with Caligula again accumulating vocalist and bassist roles.

The band’s lineup changes again when Alzazmon leaves the band shortly before the band embarks on the Bleed For Satan tour (with the bands Cannibal Corpse and Infernal Majesty). Gaahnfaust is his replacement.

In 99, the band continued to tour. This time, the destination is Mexico and the state of California. Later, together with the band Dimmu Borgir, they toured Europe on The Satanic Inquisition tour.

In 2000, the band returned to the studio to record the EP “Teach Children to Worship Satan”. This EP includes a new version of An Apprentice Of Satan, as well as covers by Slayer, Mayhem, Sodom and King Diamond and a music video.

Dark Funeral, Deicide, Immortal and Cannibal Corpse begin a tour, which begins at the No Mercy festival.

Gaahnfaust leaves the band, and Matte Modin (from the band Defleshed) takes his place.

In early 2001, the band returned to Abyss Studios to record their third album, “Diabolis Interium”.
New tours follow: across Europe, with the bands Tidfall, Anorexia Nervosa and Ragnarok; across the United States, as the opening act for Cannibal Corpse and Asia. After this tour, Dominion left the band and was replaced, in 2003, by Chaq Mol.

In 2004, the band switched from MNW/No Fashion Records to Regain Records. Together with the bands Goatwhore and Zyklon, they gave a series of concerts in Japan, Mexico and Spain.

In January 2005, the band began preparing materials to release a new album, and four months later, recordings began for the band’s eighth album, “Attera Totus Sanctus”. A series of tours will follow to promote this album.

After several shows promoting the album, the band released their ninth album in 2009, “Angelus Exuro Pro Eternus”. And the following year, Emperor Magus Caligula left the band. Caligula declared that his reasons for leaving were personal and that his life took a new direction. Soon after, B-Force and Dominator also left the band. Dominator cited personal and private reasons for his departure. B-Force announced that it was his own decision to leave the band.

In 2011, Dark Funeral recruited Nachtgarm (Negator) as the band’s new vocalist following the departure in July 2010 of Magnus “Masse” Broberg (known as Emperor Magus Caligula). Bassist Zornheym was also added to the group’s lineup.
Ahriman commented: “Now that we have finalized our formation, I must say that the atmosphere and chemistry within the band is fantastic. Furthermore, each member of Dark Funeral shares a huge and strong commitment, absolute dedication, and total professionalism.”

Dark Funeral at Wacken 2012

In the same year, Dominator announced his return to Dark Funeral and commented that “after a short pause focusing on other aspects of my life, it is a great privilege for me to announce my return to Dark Funeral. The time I have been away has filled me with inspiration, and I’m ready to get back behind the kit and destroy everything. It’s an honour to play alongside my partners again. DARK FUNERAL emerges again to dominate everything once again.”

Dark Funeral was confirmed for the 2012 edition of the 70000 Tons of Metal cruise, which left Miami, Florida, for the Cayman Islands on January 23, 2012 and returned four days later. Around 40 bands played on the cruise.

In 2013, the band celebrated 20 years of history and celebrated with several shows at festivals across Europe.

On March 19, 2013, Blackmoon’s death was announced by Lord Ahriman.

On December 16, 2014, Dark Funeral released a new track and music video titled “Nail them to the Cross”. The video revealed the new vocalist Heljarmadr (GRÁ, DOMGÅRD and CURSED and bassist Natt (ANGREPP and WITHERSHIN) for the group’s formation. The band confirmed their sixth studio album for 2015. “Nail them to the Cross”, alongside the “Temple of Ahriman” track, was released as a single on February 26, 2015.

Dark Funeral currently consists of Heljarmadr (vocals), Lord Ahriman (guitar), Chaq Mol (guitar), Adra Melek (bass) and Jalomah (drums). Before this somewhat stabilized line-up, the band’s line-up changed several times and included temporary musicians.

Daniela Barros and Daniela Fraga.

Studio Albums

Dark Funeral EP •1994
The Secrets of the Black Arts •1996
Vobiscum Satanas •1998
Teach Children to Worship Satan EP •2000
Diabolis Interium •2001
Under Wings of Hell •2002
De Profundis Clamavi Ad the Domine – Live album •2004
Attera Totus Sanctus •2005
Attera Orbis Terrarum- Part I video •2007
Attera Orbis Terraarum- Parte II video •2008
Angelus Exuro pro-Eternus •2009
In the sign…/The Secrets of the Black Arts Boxed Set •2014
Nail Them to the Cross Single •2015
Where Shadows Forever Reign •2016
25 Years of Satanic Symphonies Boxed Set •2019
Unchain My Soul Single •2021
Ineffable King of the Black Arts Boxed Set •2021
We are the Apocalypse •2022
The Dawn No More Rises Single •2022.