The Black Dahlia Murder

The Black Dahlia Murder is an American Melodic Death Metal band from Waterford, Michigan, formed in 2001. Their songs usually cover zombies, death, murder and horror themes.

They played at several festivals worldwide, including Ozzfest in 2005/2006, The Sounds of Underground Tour in 2006, and Wacken Open Air in 2007.

Bassist Bart Williams left his band in Detroit to play with The Black Dahlia Murder, on tour with Throwdown, and later on European shows with Liar. Shortly afterwards, he joined the band, as did Shannon Lucas, who replaced Pierre Langlois.

They toured the UK in conjunction with their record label. “Miasma” peaked at #118 on the Billboard 200, while “Nocturnal” peaked at #72 on the same chart.

In 2015, they released the album titled “Abysmal”, which was the last album with guitarist Ryan Knight.

In May 2022, vocalist Trevor Strnad passed away at the age of 41, the news was released by the band’s members, and the possible cause was suicide.


  • What a Horrible Night to Have a Curse (2001)
  • A Cold-Blooded Epitaph (2002, EP)
  • Demo (2002)
  • Unhallowed (2003)
  • Miasma (2005)
  • Nocturnal (2007)
  • Deflorate (2009)
  • Ritual (2011)
  • Everblack (2013)
  • Abysmal (2015)
  • Nightbringers (2017)
  • Verminous (2020)