Destruction is a German thrash metal band formed in 1982 by vocalist and bassist Marcel Schirmer, guitarist Mike Sifringer, and drummer Tommy Sandmann in a small town called Weil am Rhein. Together with their countrymen from Sodom, Tankard and Kreator, they form the “Big 4 of German Thrash”.
Over a thirty-year career, Destruction released twelve studio albums, among them the classics Sentence of Death, Infernal Overkill, Eternal Devastation and Release from Agony, and came to influence the European and American extreme metal scenes strongly. They were one of the first to insert synthesized guitars into heavy metal and have as a mascot the famous “Mad Butcher” present on the cover of most of their albums.

The band achieved success in the phonographic market early in their career. In just one year, they had a contract with SPV and their first album in stores, “Infernal Overkill”.

At that time, they were considered one of Europe’s biggest thrash metal groups. Their second album consolidated this position – “Eternal Devastation” was released in 1986 and earned them a tour with the German band Kreator. Shortly after, the first casualty, Tommy Sandmann, departed and was replaced by Olly.

Destruction at Rockharz Open Air 2014
Hailed as their best work, “Mad Butcher” hit stores in 1987. After a successful tour of the United States and Europe, the group began to show signs of trouble.
The following album, Release From Agony, dared to add new influences, which left fans dissatisfied, but despite the criticism, fans got used to the album and considered it one of the best of the band’s career. The group released a live album, “Live Without Sense”, recorded on the Release From Agony tour.

In 1989, Schmier decided to leave the band and later joined vocalist Andre Grieder (ex-Potergeist) to record the album “Cracked Brain”, released in 1990. Mike decides to continue releasing albums under the moniker “Neo-Destruction”. To this end, new vocalist Thomas Rosenmerkel and bassist Christian Engler were called in. Later, Michael Piranio joined the band as the second guitarist. During this period, three albums, including The Least Success “Human Cannonball”, were not even considered official albums by the band.

Around 1999, Schmier thought it was a good time to return to Destruction and brought drummer Sven Vormann.
In 2000, the long-awaited “All Hell Breaks Loose” was released. The group officially returned to being one of the best thrash metal bands with the following albums: “The Antichrist” (2001) and “Metal Discharge” (2003).
The year of 2005 saw the release of the excellent “Inventor Of Evil”, which was highly acclaimed by fans and features appearances by Biff Byford (Saxon), Doro Pesch, Shagrath (Dimmu Borgir), Björn “Speed” Strid (Soilwork), Paul Di’Anno, Messiah Marcolin (Candlemass), Mark Osegueda (Angel of Death), Peter “Peavy” Wagner (Rage), and Peter Tägtgren (Hypocrisy, Pain), all are featured on the track “The Alliance of Hellhoundz”.
In 2007, on the band’s 25th anniversary, they re-recorded several of their classic songs and released them on the album titled “Thrash Anthems”. In 2008,

The album “D.E.V.O.L.U.T.I.O.N” was launched and also greatly acclaimed.
More recently, in 2011, they released the album “Day of Reckoning” and went across Europe as part of “Thrashfest Classics” alongside the bands Sepultura, Exodus, Heathen and Mortal Sin.
Between the end of 2011 and 2012, they performed three shows in Brazil, in Curitiba, São Paulo and São Luís (Metal Open Air). Also in 2012, another album by the German trio was announced, “Spiritual Genocide,” released on November 23rd through Nuclear Blast Records.

In September 2013, Destruction returned to Brazil to perform at Piauiense Capital Teresina and the fifth edition of the Rock in Rio festival, sharing the stage with the Brazilians from Krisiun who together played the song Venom “Black Metal” The following year, the German trio performed once again across Brazil, playing shows in eight cities in November and December.

During May and June 2015, Destruction performed on an American tour of more than 20 shows alongside the Brazilians Sepultura.

In August 2019, the album Born To Perish was released, recorded between January and February of the same year at Little Creek Studios in Switzerland.

Metal is big in Germany, and Destruction is one of the big names among all German bands.


Infernal Overkill
Released: 24 May 1985

1986 Eternal Devastation
Released: 12 July 1986

1987 Release from Agony
Released: 1 December 1987

1990 Cracked Brain
Released: 1 June 1990

1998 The Least Successful Human Cannonball[1]
Released: 1998

2000 All Hell Breaks Loose
Released: 25 April 2000

2001 The Antichrist
Released: 27 August 2001

2003 Metal Discharge
Released: 22 September 2003

2005 Inventor of Evil
Released: 22 August 2005

2008 D.E.V.O.L.U.T.I.O.N.
Released: 29 August 2008

2011 Day of Reckoning
Released: 18 February 2011

2012 Spiritual Genocide
Released: 23 November 2012

2016 Under Attack
Released: 13 May 2016

2019 Born to Perish
Released: 9 August 2019[5]

2022 Diabolical
Released: 8 April 2022