Satyricon is a Norwegian black metal band formed in 1990 by Exhurtum (Carl-Michael Eide) and Wargod under the name Ezcema. These two members only participated in recording a demo before leaving, leaving command to vocalist Satyr, who, together with drummer Frost, formed the backbone of the band since their first album in 1994.

The band is considered one of the pioneers of the second wave of Norwegian Black Metal, which emerged in the late 1980s and with its members having worked with other important bands such as Darkthrone and Gorgoroth. Furthermore, both members of Darkthrone have participated in Satyricon albums, with Nocturno Culto already being a band member in 1996.

After releasing several albums in the 1990s, the band’s musical style changed in 2002 with the album “Volcano”. The album features a more commercial sound focused on arena rock and with a slower rhythm. It made the band succeed internationally but received strong criticism from their former fans. Subsequent albums followed a similar musical style to “Volcano”, with Satyricon evolving into one of the most popular Norwegian Black Metal bands, as well as contributing significantly to the increase in the number of foreigners interested in learning the Norwegian language.

The band remained active having a pause in 2008 but after five years without releasing new material, Satyricon entered the studio in February 2013 to begin working on a new album, simply titled “Satyricon”. The album features collaborations with guitarist Gildas Le Pape (who plays live with the band) and the vocalist of the rock band Madrugada Sivert Høyem. It was published in September, coinciding with a concert with the Norwegian national choir.

Satyricon recorded the best positions on the music charts in the band’s career and was their first work to enter the Austrian, Swiss and Belgian charts. In its first week, the album debuted at number eight on the Norwegian charts; however, the following week, it reached number one, becoming Satyricon’s first album to reach number one.

In November, the duo released the music video for the song “Phoenix”, which features the voice of Sivert Høyem and shows scenes from his concert with the Norwegian National Choir.
Satyricon scored a Spellemann Award nomination in the Best Metal Album category

Current Members

Satyr (Sigurd Wongraven) – vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass (1991–present)
Frost (Kjetil-Vidar Haraldstad) – drums (1993–present)
Current tour members
Azarak (Steinar Gundersen) – lead guitar (1999–present)
Anders Odden – bass (2009–present)
Diogo “Yogy” Bastos – guitar (2013-present)[31]
Job Bos – keyboard (2013-present)

Studio albums

Dark Medieval Times (1994)
The Shadowthrone (1994)
Divine Nemesis (1996)
Rebel Extravaganza (1999)
Volcano (2002)
Now, Diabolical (2006)
The Age of Nero (2008)
Satyricon (2013)
Deep Calleth Upon Deep (2017)