Bring Me the Horizon

Bring Me the Horizon (often abbreviated to BMTH) are a British rock band formed in 2004 in Sheffield, South Yorkshire.
The group currently consists of vocalist Oliver Sykes, guitarist Lee Malia, bassist Matt Kean, drummer Matt Nicholls and keyboardist Jordan Fish. They are signed to RCA Records globally and to Columbia Records exclusively in the United States.

Bring Me the Horizon’s first official release was the 4-track EP, “This Is What the Edge of Your Seat Was Made For”, released in late 2004. The band released their debut album, “Count Your Blessings” in 2006.
Upon release, the album’s sound was divisive among listeners and met with disdain from critics.
Bring Me the Horizon began to break away from its controversial sound with “Suicide Season” (2008), which was a creative, critical and commercial turning point for the band, as the Heavy Deathcore sound quickly lost its place as a result of the sound more eclectic presence on the new album. The band released their third album; There Is A Hell, Believe Me, I’ve Seen It. There Is A Heaven, Let’s Keep It A Secret (2010), leading them to greater international fame while also incorporating influences from classical, electronic and pop music. His fourth studio album, Sempiternal (2013), achieved Gold certification in Australia, selling 35,000 copies and Silver in the United Kingdom, selling 60,000 copies. The fifth album, That’s the Spirit (2015), debuted in second place on the most important music charts in the United Kingdom and the United States, namely the UK Albums Chart and the US Billboard 200. His sixth studio album, Amo (2019), became his first to top the UK charts. In addition to these six studio albums, they have also released two EPs and two live albums. They received four Kerrang! Awards, including two for Best British Band and one for Best Live Band and also received two Grammy nominations.

The style of their early work, including their debut album Count Your Blessings, has been described primarily as deathcore, but they began to adopt a more eclectic style of metalcore on later albums. Additionally, That’s the Spirit marked a shift in their sound towards less aggressive Rock musical styles. Amo has seen a shift in different genres, such as electronic music, Pop and Hip-hop.


On March 20, 2020, Bring Me the Horizon shared that they were in a home studio, writing and recording material for their eighth album and that it was going to be an EP, with part of it being co-produced by Mick Gordon.
On June 25, the band released the single “Parasite Eve” alongside its music video.
On the same day, the band also announced a project they are working on titled “Post Human”, which they said will be four EPs released over the next year that, when combined, would form one album.
On September 2, the band collaborated with English singer Yungblud on a collaborative single titled “Obey” and its corresponding music video.
On October 14/2020, the band officially announced via social media that Post Human: Survival Horror would be released on October 30, 2020.
On October 22/2020, a week before the release date, the fourth single, “Teardrops” was released, along with an accompanying music video.

In December 2020, Fish said that the band was writing “on and off” and would be planning their next release in early 2021.
He also talked about the group’s original release plan, saying that they planned to “do four EPs in a year, But [Post Human: Survival Horror] was almost an album, so I think the gap between them will be a little longer than expected, just because they’ll probably be longer than expected.”
After being released in physical format on January 22, 2021, Post Human: Survivor Horror returned to the charts and reached a new peak, becoming the band’s second number-one album in the UK on the UK Albums Chart. Two years earlier, Amo would be the first to achieve this feat.
The band collaborated with singer Olivia O’Brien on the song “No More Friends”. The song is from O’Brien’s EP Episodes: Season 1, which was released on June 11, 2021.

On September 2, 2021, the band announced the release of a new single, “Die4U”, released on September 16.
On 8 December 2021, the band were announced as co-headliners alongside Arctic Monkeys at the 2022 edition of the Reading and Leeds Festival, headlining for the first time. In an interview with the website NME,
Sykes said what he thought about headlining Reading and Leeds and also what to expect from the band’s setlist:

“It’s fucking crazy, right? I’ve never been so excited. When we got the email, I was like, really? This is not real. And also Arctic Monkeys? It’s going to be awesome; it looks like we’ll have a rockier line-up next year. Some of the Reading & Leeds fans from 10 years ago are like, ‘Ah, it’s not the same anymore!’ That seems like the appropriate line-up for Reading & Leeds, you know? We’re going with everything. Let’s make sure it’s insane. I always said we would play when we got the chance, and it finally came. We have the songs, we have the hits, and we may not be a household name, but I know we can put on a festival-worthy show”.

In February 2022, it was reported that the band would contribute to the soundtrack and perform the main theme for “Gran Turismo 7”.
On February 4, the band released their version of “Moon Over the Castle” as a single ahead of schedule due to a leak.
During the 2022 Brit Awards, the band was introduced as a surprise act to perform “Bad Habits” alongside Ed Sheeran.
The studio version of “Bad Habits” was released on February 17th. On March 16, the band featured on “Maybe”, the fourth single from Machine Gun Kelly’s album Mainstream Sellout.
It became the band’s first song to reach the Billboard Hot 100, debuting at #91 and peaking at #68. On March 26, the band released a teaser for a collaboration with Australian rapper Masked Wolf on their social media called “Fallout”, released on April 1, 2022. On April 21, the band featured on the single “Bad Life” by Norwegian singer Sigrid as part of her album How to Let Go.

During the Bring Me the Horizon event in Malta on May 26, the band performed the previously unreleased single “Strangers” for the first time.
On June 22, the band officially announced the single’s release on July 6. The single was released along with a music video.
Bring Me the Horizon headlined the Australian Good Things festival in December. On May 4, 2023, the band released the single “Lost”. On June 1, 2023, the band released the single “Amen!” featuring Daryl Palumbo from the band Glassjaw and Lil Uzi Vert. On June 10, 2023, the band announced the second album in the Post Human compilation, Post Human: Nex Gen, which would be released on September 15, 2023.
August 23, Sykes announced on social media that the album would have to be postponed to an as-yet-unspecified date

Current members
Oliver Sykes – vocals (2004–present)
Lee Malia – lead guitar (2004–present)
Matt Kean – bass (2004–present)
Matt Nicholls – drums (2004–present)
Jordan Fish – synthesizer, programmer, backing vocals (2012–present)
John Bon – rhythm guitar (2014–present) (interim member)

Former members
Curtis Ward – rhythm guitar (2004-2009)
Jona Weinhofen – rhythm guitar, rhythm guitar, backing vocals (2009–2013)

Tour members
Dean Rowbotham – Rhythm Guitar (2009)
Dan Searle – Drums, percussion (2011)
Tim Hillier-Brook – Rhythm Guitar (2013)
Robin Urbino – Rhythm guitar (2013)
Brendan MacDonald – rhythm guitar, backing vocals (2013-2014)

Studio Albums

Count Your Blessings (2006)
Suicide Season (2008)
There Is A Hell, Believe Me I’ve Seen It. There Is A Heaven, Let’s Keep It A Secret (2010)
Sempiternal (2013)
That’s the Spirit (2015)
Amo (2019)